by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics




by The Sororal Republics of Wallenburg. . 383 reads.

The National Assembly

The National Assembly is the foundation and center of power in the government of our glorious Republic. 256 legislators are elected to the Assembly for four-year terms by the people based on population levels in election districts. Each district elects at least two legislators. Every two years, an election for new legislators is held. Terms overlap so that half of the Assembly is subject to recycling every two years.

The legislators are responsible for making and passing law or mandates to the Constitutional Court, and for electing most executive officers, including the Chairman of the government's major organizations.

The only checks on the Assembly's power are the Constitutional Court and the People's Independent Militia. The first processes laws, checking for unconstitutional aspects. The second is a civilian organization that watches the government for oppressive behavior.

LinkThe National Assembly in Independence