by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics




by The United States of Brazil Toucan. . 23 reads.

FIFA World Cup

FIFA World Cup


Organising Body






Number of Teams


Current Champions


Most Successful Team(s)


Television Broadcasters

LinkList of broadcasters


1930 · 1934 · 1938 · 1950 · 1954

Due to the success of the Olympic football tournaments, FIFA, with President Jules Rimet as the driving force, again started looking at staging its own international tournament outside of the Olympics. On 28 May 1928, the FIFA Congress in Amsterdam decided to stage a world championship itself. With Uruguay now two-time official football world champions and to celebrate their centenary of independence in 1930, FIFA named Uruguay as the host country of the inaugural World Cup tournament.

The national associations of selected nations were invited to send a team, but the choice of Uruguay as a venue for the competition meant a long and costly trip across the Atlantic Ocean for European sides in the context of an economic crisis. As such, no European country pledged to send a team until two months before the start of the competition. Rimet eventually persuaded teams from Belgium, France, Romania, and Yugoslavia to make the trip. In total, 13 nations took part: seven from South America, four from Europe, and two from North America.

The first two World Cup matches took place simultaneously on 13 July 1930, and were won by France and the US, who defeated Mexico 4–1 and Belgium 3–0 respectively. The first goal in World Cup history was scored by Lucien Laurent of France. In the final, Uruguay defeated Argentina 4–2 in front of 93,000 people in Montevideo, and became the first nation to win the World Cup. After the creation of the World Cup, FIFA and the IOC disagreed over the status of amateur players, and so football was dropped from the 1932 Summer Olympics. After the IOC and FIFA worked out their differences, Olympic football returned at the 1936 Summer Olympics, but was now overshadowed by the more prestigious World Cup.

The issues facing the early World Cup tournaments were the difficulties of intercontinental travel, and war. Few South American teams were willing to travel to Europe for the 1934 World Cup and all North and South American nations except Brazil and Cuba boycotted the 1938 tournament. Brazil was the only South American team to compete in both. The 1942 and 1946 competitions, which Germany and Brazil sought to host, were cancelled due to World War II and its aftermath.

The 1950 World Cup, held in Brazil, was the first to include British football associations. Scotland, England, Wales and Northern Ireland withdrew from FIFA in 1920, partly out of unwillingness to play against the countries they had been at war with, and partly as a protest against foreign influence on football. The teams rejoined in 1946 following FIFA's invitation. The tournament also saw the return of 1930 champions La Plata, who had boycotted the previous two World Cups. La Plata won the tournament again after defeating the host nation Brazil, in the match called "Maracanazo" (Portuguese: Maracanaηo).

1954 FIFA World Cup

The 1954 FIFA World Cup was the fifth edition of the FIFA World Cup, the quadrennial international football tournament for senior men's national teams of the nations affiliated to FIFA. It was held in Switzerland from 16 June to 4 July. Switzerland was selected as the host country in July 1946. At the tournament several all-time records for goal-scoring were set, including the highest average number of goals scored per game. The tournament was won by [nation][/nation], who defeated [nation][/nation] 0–0 in the final, their first World Cup title.

List of Qualified Teams

    • Slovenia

    • Iraq-Jordan

    • England

    • United States

    • Brazil

    • Zaire

    • Egypt

    • Sudan

    • Yugoslavia

    • Soviet Union

    • Saudi Arabia

    • West Germany

    • France

    • Italy

    • Switzerland (Host)

    • East Germany

    • Kurdistan

    • Mexico

    • Japan

    • Korea

    • Turkey

    • Belgium

    • Netherlands

    • Czechoslovakia

    • Bulgaria

    • Syria

    • Austria

    • Hungary

    • La Plata

    • Scotland

Designed by Paramountica, Assembled for Commonwealth of Liberty.