by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics




by The Realm of Serpens Land. . 104 reads.


SEARCH ****************

Republic of Serpens Land
1957 - 1965


Coat of Arms

Motto: Quod cito fit, cito perit


Fort Charlotte

Largest City





Serpens Lander


Supreme President of the Republic
- (1957 - 1965)
Prime Minister
- (1957 - 1959)
- (1959 - 1965)

Unitary semi-presidential republic

Cornell Allard
James Peterson
Brian B. Foster


- Upper House
- Lower House


Legislative Assembly

Land Area

461,385 km²


- 1960




Serpens Land Pound

Preceded by

Dominion of Serpens Land
Republic of Erodesia

Succeeded by

Serpens Land
Westmoor isles

Updated: March 2021

The Republic of Serpens Land was the historical predecessor to modern day Serpens Land. It was formed on 31 May 1957 after General Cornell Allard's military coup against the Dominion of Serpens Land. It united the previously separate Dominion of Serpens Land and Republic of Erodesia. During its first three months of existence, it also saw the Serpens Land territory of the Wetsmoor Isles gain independence.

The "Republican Era", as the time period of the Republic of Serpens Land is known, is widely looked down upon by modern Serpens Landers. The era saw many human rights abuses by the Republic's authoritarian government. During the Republican Era, democracy was also heavily suppressed. The parliament of Serpens Land - the Republic's elected government body - held very little power.

The Republic of Serpens Land ultimately fell following the death of General Cornell Allard. On 18 May 1965, the Realm of Serpens Land with King Edward I as it's head of state was proclaimed. A new constitution was put into effect in 1967.


The Republic of Erodesia, which lay on the northern half of the Island of Serpens Land, struggled financially throughout the 1940s and '50s. During the late 1940s, the country suffered mass unemployment due to incompetent administration and crippling sanctions enforced by the Dominion of Serpens Land. A referendum on reunification narrowly failed in 1947. By the 1950s, public sentiment in Erodesia was largely pro-unification. Still, unification was strongly opposed by the Erodesian political elite, who would not accept unification with the monarchical Dominion of Serpens Land.

Following Cornell Allard's coup, and the transition into a republican government, the idea of unification became more acceptable to Erodesian politicians. On 19 June 1957, another referendum was held in Erodesia, which was accepted by nearly 71% of voters. Sovereignty of the Republic of Erodesia was officially ceded to the Republic of Serpens Land on 12 July 1957. It would not be for another year until Erodesia was fully integrated into Serpens Land.

On 3 August 1957, the Serpens Land territory of the Westmoor Isles unilaterally declared independence from the Republic of Serpens Land. While this was not accepted by Allard, Serpens Land's military resources were largely disorganised for the months following the coup. Military action to retake the Westmoor Isles was considered, but deemed unworthy.


The Republic of Serpens Land was a unitary semi-presidential republic under an authoritarian dictatorship. Officially, the government was led by the prime minister, who was responsible to parliament. The Republic of Serpens Land had two prime ministers during its existence, James Peterson and Brian B. Foster. In practice, the Supreme President of the Republic - an office held by Cornell Allard for the entirety of its existence - held the majority of political power. Often simply known as "the President'', the office was officially the ceremonial head of state of Serpens Land. However, in practice, Allard held a great amount of political influence.

The main legislative body was the Parliament of Serpens Land. Parliament consisted of two houses: the Senate and the Legislative Assembly. The Senate was made up entirely of members appointed by the prime minister and was responsible for reviewing legislation. The Legislative Assembly was, in theory, elected by the general population. However, voter suppression techniques were often used, and in 1960, only about 40% of the Serpens Land population was eligible to vote. The Parliament of Serpens Land held very little power during the Republican Era. Legislation passed by parliament was often vetoed by the President.

Under the constitution of the Republic of Serpens Land, five provinces were established, each with their own governments and legislatures. Each provincial government was led by a premier who was responsible to their respective provincial parliaments.


The Republican Defence Force was the military force of the Republic of Serpens Land. It consisted of the Republic of Serpens Land Navy, the Republic of Serpens Land Army, and the Republic of Serpens Land Air Force. Under Cornell Allard, Serpens Land's defensive capabilities were increased. In 1961, the Republic of Serpens Land introduced conscription for all Serpens Land males over the age of 18.


The Republic of Serpens Land and the Republican Era in general is largely looked down upon by modern day Serpens Landers. The display of Republican symbols such as the flag or coat of arms is also frowned upon. Despite this, many aspects of modern day Serpens Land, such as Serpens Land’s five provinces, stem from the Republican Era.

Services and Information


Get to know Serpens Land



Crime, justice and the law

Drivers Licences

Education and learning


Armed Forces

Travelling Abroad


© Crown copyright




Terms and Conditions


GOV.SP is built and maintained by HORIZON INC and the Government Digital Service
on behalf of the Department of Information


The Realm of Serpens Land