by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics




by The Realm of Serpens Land. . 47 reads.



The Government of Serpens Land

Government Logo


Self Government: April 23, 1907

Current Constitution: May 17, 1965


Head of State
Monarch (King)

Residence: Royal Palace of Fort Charlotte

Legislative Branch

Legislature: Parliament

Meeting Place: Buildings of Parliament, Fort Charlotte

Executive Branch

Head of
Prime Minister

Main Body: King's Privy Council for Serpens Land

Leader: President of the Privy Council

Main Organ: Cabinet

Judicial Branch
(LinkKing on the Bench)

Court: Supreme Court


The Government of Serpens Land, or officially His Majesty's Serpens Land Government is the governing body responsible for the administration of Serpens Land. The current style of government was established on May 17, 1965 when Serpens Land reinstated the monarchy. The core of the government is Serpens Land Crown. All power in the Serpens Land Government comes from the Crown, and it is the foundation of the Legislative, Executive and Judicial branches of government. The monarch (currently King Edward II) is the head of state. The prime minister (currently Karter Preston) is the head of government invited by the Crown to form a government after acquiring confidence (support from the majority of the house) from the House of Commons, which is typically done through a general election. Generally in an election, the leader of the party with the majority of seats in the house of commons becomes the prime minister. If a party does not win the majority of seats, but still has more seats than any other party, then it is called a minority government. In a minority government, the ruling party must retain confidence from the house. If the House of Commons looses confidence in the ruling party, a vote of non-confidence can be called which can lead to a general election.


In Serpens Land English, the term "government" refers to both the set of institutions that govern the nation and to the current political leadership. The term "Crown" is also used to refer to the government and entities owned by the government. An example would be "Crown land" or "Crown corporation".


King of Serpens Land

Edward II

Born: 21 April 1958

Reign: 6 February 1984 present

Spouse: Queen Mary of Serpens Land

Heir apparent: Victoria, Princess Royal

As per the Constitution Act adopted in 1965, Serpens Land is a constitutional monarchy, meaning the role of the monarch is both legal and practical, but not political. The current monarch of Serpens Land is King Edward II.

In order to pass any legislation, Royal Assent in required as part of the Linkroyal prerogative. Royal prerogative is the power belonging to the monarch vested in the government. The monarch in theory has the power to refuse any legislation passed by parliament, though in practice this is almost never heard of except in a dire political emergency or upon the advice of the government. Royal prerogative also includes summoning, proroguing, and dissolving parliament in order to call an election. It is also includes the negotiation of treaties and alliances, international agreements, declaration of war and issuing passports.


The government is defined as the monarch acting on behalf of his/her privy council. However, the privy council rarely meets in full. Most of the day to day running of the government is exercised by a sub group of the privy council called the Cabinet. The cabinet is made up of the prime minister and other senior ministers that form the government.

One of the main duties of the monarch is that a democratic government is always in place. This means appointing a prime minister to lead the cabinet. In practice the prime minister is typically the leader of the political party with the majority of seats in the House of Commons. If no one party has the majority of seats, the leader of party with the most seats or one supported by the majority of the House of Commons is appointed.


The Buildings of Parliament in Fort Charlotte

The legislative branch is the branch of government responsible for voting on and passing laws. It is made up of three parts; the monarch, the House of Councillors and the House of Commons. Although not specified in law, in practice the House of Commons and the House of Councillors are the dominant bodies with the monarch rarely going against their will.

Elections for the House of Commons are held every 4 years. The 230 members of the House of Commons - called Members of Parliament (MPs) each represent a local electoral district called a constituency or more colloquially, a riding and are directly elected by voters. The candidate with the plurality of votes in each riding represents their respective riding in parliament. Each riding contains roughly 100,000 people. The House of Councillors is elected using proportional representation, with elections also being held every 4 years. The House of Councillors main purpose is to provide a check to the House of Commons. The House of Councillors is allowed to block bills from passing and suggest edits.

To run for a seat in the House a Commons, a candidate must be at least 18 years old. When elected a Member of Parliament keeps their seat until parliament is dissolved, after which they may seek re-election. There are no limits for the amount of time a Member of Parliament can stay in office.

To become a Councillor, you must be at least 21 years old. Councillors do not represent any geographical area, and only represent their political party. Councillors are elected using proportional representation, meaning that seats are divided up between political parties based off the percentage of the popular vote each party gets. Parties then fill their seats using candidates on their candidate lists. Most political parties fill their seats with their most experienced members first, then filling the remainder with newer candidates.


The court system makes up the Judicial Branch of the Serpens Land government. It is the Judicial Branch's job to interpret and scrutinize the law. There are four levels of court in Serpens Land. The highest level is the Supreme Court; the next is the Appeals Court which hears appeals from the High Court; the High Court deals with serious criminal and civil offences, and hears appeals from the lower courts; and the Magistrates' court which is where all criminal and civil proceedings start. If one is not happy with a court's judgment, they can appeal to the higher court.

Services and Information


Get to know Serpens Land



Crime, justice and the law

Drivers Licences

Education and learning


Armed Forces

Travelling Abroad


Crown copyright




Terms and Conditions


GOV.SP is built and maintained by HORIZON INC and the Government Digital Service
on behalf of the Department of Information


The Realm of Serpens Land