by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics




by The Most Serene Republic of Zentata. . 72 reads.


---Thalassian Assembly of Nations---

Set-Up of the Assembly

The Thalassian Assembly, (hereby referred to as TAN, or the assembly) is a union of nations dedicated to ensuring economic prosperity, peace, and unity. There are 4 main branches to the assembly, the Central Bank, Central Assembly, The Central Commission, and The Court of the Thalassian Assembly. Other smaller divisions exist.

How it Works in Brief

The Central Assembly, which is composed of 6 representatives from each member state, represent their country's interests, and work to see that those are represented in the laws of the union. The laws of the union are proposed by the Central Commission, which is composed of a rotation of 6 representatives, one from each country. Each country takes turns of three years being the president over the Commission. The Commission creates a law proposal, which is then sent to the Central Assembly to be refined, and then back to the Commission for approval. The Commission then ensures that the law is carried out in the countries of the Assembly. The Central Bank does what all Central Banks do, and the Court works to settle all cases brought up against TAN laws in particular, as well as issues that span TAN.

The Thalassian Single Market

The TSM is the linchpin of TAN. In the TSM, goods, people, and capital/services may move freely across the borders of the member nations. This is facilitated by a common currency, the Thalassian Standard Unit (placeholder), aka the TSU. Movement in and out of TAN to a non-member is regulated by the customs union of the states involved, but the TAN state must conform to TAN regulations. The TSM benefits the member countries by stimulating competition and trade, improving efficiency, raising quality, and helping to cut prices for consumers. In order to keep the TSM working smoothly, standardized standards are implemented by the Central Commission and Assembly. Trade in and out of TAN is regulated by the Commission, and while countries in TAN may make trade deals with other countries that are solely to the benefit of the singular country making the trade deal, trade standards and sanctions of TAN must be used. Countries may choose to opt out of the TSU.

Thalassian Economic Zone

Nations that do not wish to participate fully in TAN may commit to a Economic Zone. Within this Zone, nations gain most of the benefits of the single market, and economic preferential treatment, as well as a commitement for the TAN to defend the nation should the need arise. Borders are semi-open, and only a few standards need apply. There is no representation in the Central Assembly or Commission, but nations may send observers, and may speak to the Assembly and Commission.

Agencies/Divisions of TAN

Coming soon!