by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics




by The Valkyrian Republic of Qvait. . 162 reads.

Government of Valkyria

Kate Murphy is the incumbent
President of Valkyria

Valkyria is a unitary state that features devolved government and the national constitution enshrines the principles of republicanism, parliamentary democracy, and forms of direct democracy. The Parliament of Valkyria is a bicameral legislature composed of the Citizens Assembly and the National Assembly. The Palace of Valhalla is the official residence of the President of Valkyria, while the members of Parliament, oftentimes just the National Assembly, meet at Legislative Valkyria. The seat of government for most agencies is Stockholm, but some agencies are headquartered in Sydney or Monteros, depending on their function.

The head of state is the President, who is elected to serve a six-year term and can stand for unlimited re-election. While the officeholder was intended to serve as a figurehead, the President has a few powers granted to them by the constitution and is named the commander-in-chief of the military. With regard to the former, the president can cast the tie-breaking vote in the Citizens Assembly, refer bills to the Constitutional Court for judicial review, and call for national referendums.

Stella Kaufman is the incumbent
Chancellor of Valkyria

The head of government is the Chancellor of Valkyria, who is elected by the National Assembly to exercise the executive power of the national government through the Cabinet. The legislative power of the national government is vested in the Parliament. The upper house of Parliament is the Citizens Assembly, which is filled by sortition. The 150 members of this house serve staggered nine-year terms in which one-third are replaced every three years. Meanwhile, the lower house is the National Assembly, which is filled by direct election by mixed-member proportional representation. At the most, members of the National Assembly serve terms of three years before another election.

While Valkyria is a multi-party system in which many political parties can win elections, national politics has mostly been divided between two blocs since 2017: the Alliance of Social Democrats and the New Conservative Coalition. After the 2019 general election, control of the government has rested in the latter.