by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics


The Republic of
Inoffensive Centrist Democracy

Overview Factbook Policies People Government Economy Rank Trend Cards


Citizen Application

  • Display Name: Oceania

  • Capital City: Annheim

  • Territory:

  • Population: 98,400,000

  • Description of Political Environment:
    Finally settling into a new constitution, ratified about fifteen years ago, the Oceanian Republic is a unitary fully-presidential republic. The President is elected every five years by a popular vote, and is a member of the National Council, the 151-member unicameral legislature of the Republic.

    The President is the chief executive of the government, and appoints a 20-member Cabinet from members of the Council. Collectively, the President and the Cabinet constitute the executive branch. While the President has no legal obligation to command a majority of the Council, in the brief history of the current Republic, the President has never failed to build a governing coalition.

    The National Council possesses most legislative powers, though it has delegated much authority relating to trade, foreign policy, and defense to the executive branch. The Council is elected every five years via a mixed-member-proportional system, with the President an ex-officio member, 50 members directly elected from constituencies, and the remaining 100 members elected from lists, two per constituency.

    A basic two-tier court system handles major civil and criminal cases, with district courts of several judges each and a High Court of seven judges. All district and High Court judges are nominated by a nonpartisan judicial nominating commission (elected by the National Council, typically consisting of judges) and appointed by the President. A committee of the National Council hears constitutional questions and recommends action (but usually inaction) to the National Council. Each province has its own civil and criminal courts to deal with minor disputes and offenses, with justices typically popularly elected.

    Many municipal powers are constitutionally devolved to the 20 provincial governments. Each provincial government consists of a commission (consisting of anywhere from 5 to 120 members, with fewer members being more common) and a directly elected Mayor.

  • Description of the Economy:

      Economy Type: Manufacturing/Service Economy
      GDP: $789 Billion

      | Maritime - Commercial - Small | Defense - General Naval Systems | Financial - Investment | Information Technologies - Telecom | Locomotive -Electric |
      Major Imports
      Industrial Equipment, Machinery, Food, Agricultural Goods, Petroleum, Raw Ores, Consumer Goods, Pharmaceuticals, Medical Equipment, Chemical Products, Vehicles

    Logistical operations particularly maritime logistics, but also rail cargo powers much of the Oceanian economy, with the investment industry exploiting this specialization. Subsistence agriculture exists to some degree in the northern, rural parts of the country, and there's some subsistence fishing along the coast, but neither exists nearly enough to sustain the overwhelming population.

  • Description of Your Nation's Military:
    Military Doctrine: Specialized

    National Attitude: Defensive

    Military Focus:

      2 :Army
      9 :Navy
      8 :Air force
      0 :Marines/Expeditionary
      0 :Special Forces

    Oceania maintains a large navy and a larger-than-average air force, balanced by a small nation guard serving as its army. Peacetime service limit is capped at 950,000 members.

  • History of your Nation:
    Following about two centuries of shifting alliances and wars, dozens of Oceanian tribes were united under a monarchy some six hundred years ago. The monarchy steadily grew the borders, though not by much before, two hundred years ago, it was abolished in a revolution. The First Republic, a federal parliamentary system, lasted for about two hundred years and, though it introduced massive economic growth and globalization, was plagued with instability as the population grew out of control. A constitutional convention was called fifteen years ago and it ratified the current constitution of the Second Republic.