by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics


The Republic of
Civil Rights Lovefest

Overview Factbook Policies People Government Economy Rank Trend Cards


Political Structure of the Republic of Telconi

The Republic of Telconi is a unitary republic. It's constitution was approved by a popular referendum after being approved by the interim revolutionary council on March 22, 1989. Telconi's government is divided into three branches, Legislative, Executive, and Judicial. The primary power rests with the legislative branch, with a relatively weak executive in comparison to many republics.

It's Legislative Branch consists of a unicameral entity known as the Supreme National Convention. Delegates to the SNC are elected every five years by a popular vote of every legal adult in Telconi, exempting criminals currently incarcerated, or on probation. Telconi's voting system is notable in that it is a dual vote, at large voting system. A voter picks one of the 300 candidates to give a "promoter"(+1) vote to, and one candidate to give a "detractor"(-1) vote to. The 200 member SNC is then assembled from the candidates receiving the top 200 net vote counts. The only exemption is that all five of Telconi's registered political parties are entitled to a minimum of two seats each, if a party fails to get two seats in an election, the party with the most seats must concede seats to the under-represented party or parties. Two delegates from each party, chosen by their party delegates, make up the Advisory Council to the Chancellor, which functions as a cabinet. Each delegate has the power to introduce legislation into the SNC, and all delegates have a single vote. A decree passes with a minimum vote count of 101 (simple majority), and must have "aye" votes from delegates from at least two parties. In the event a decree receives an exact split of 100 to 100, the Vice Chancellor casts the tiebreaking vote.

Current SNC Delegate counts:

New Telconi Party: 76 seats
Conservative Party: 51 seats
Liberal Party: 38 seats
Socialist Party: 22 seats
Green Party: 13 Seats

The Executive Branch of the Telconi government has two leaders. The Chancellor of the SNC is elected by a vote of the newly seated SNC immediately following their election. A Chancellor must receive the support of at least 101 SNC delegates to be elected. The Chancellor serves as Head of State, Head of Government, and Commander in Chief of the Telconi Armed forces. Upon election the Chancellor appoints a vice Chancellor. The Chancellor has the authority to introduce legislation into the SNC (but not vote in the SNC), as well as the power to veto any legislation passing the SNC. A Veto may be overturned by the Advisory Council, with a unanimous vote to override the Chancellor's veto. The Chancellor may serve an unlimited number of terms, but these terms must be consecutive.

The Judicial Branch of Telconi's government Consists of a Supreme Constitutional Court, and eight lower Constitutional Appeal Courts. The Supreme Constitutional Court consists of fifteen Justices, three from each party (Elected directly by party caucus upon a vacancy occuring). Justices generally serve for life, only vacating their seats upon death, resignation, or a recall by 2/3 of their party delegates. Each Justice from the Supreme Constitutional Court appoints one Justice to each Constitutional Appeal Court, resulting in fifteen Justices on each Constitutional Appeals Court, which mirror the Justices on the SCC. Any law challenged as unconstitutional is referred to an available CAC for a decision. If the CAC upholds the law, this decision can then be appealed to the SCC. The SCC must agree to hear a case with a majority vote of the Justices. If the SCC declines to hear the case, the CAC's decision stands.

The Republic of Telconi