by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics


The TÝrastrāl Commonwealth of
Left-wing Utopia

Overview Factbook Dispatches Policies People Government Economy Rank Trend Cards


The Commonwealth of Syndic Australia Homepage: National Overview


The Commonwealth of Syndic Australia

An am fýrin a unsiač, ný Astrālēa adhartas - In Truth and Solidarity, Australia Advances

The Commonwealth of Syndic Australia

Commonwealth of Australia, Syndicalist Union of Australia, Australia

Population: ≈35,910,000 (2023 est.)
⪆40,000,000 - ⪆42,000,000 inc. New Guinea

Area: ≈8,090,000sqkm
≈8,760,000sqkm inc. New Guinea

Federal Capital: Canberra

Largest City: Melbourne

Official Language: Austro-Anglic

Government: Federal Parliamentary Syndicalist Republic

Head of Government: Prime Minister Gene O'Caelleigh (since 2019)

Head of State: The State Council

  • Cz. Malcolm Ambrose Arnott of the Industrial Socialist Party

  • Cz. Glen Seung of the Australian Labor Party

  • Cz. Joelle Briscoe of the Country Party

  • Cz. Emilos Koutsopoulos of the Christian Social Democrats

  • Cz. Rennae Russell Tucker of the Australian Green Party

Currency: Australic Decimal Pound (ú ADP)


  • First Settlement by Aboriginal Peoples - ⪆65 000 BCE

  • Colonisation by the Britannic Empire - 26th Jan 1788

  • Eureka Rebellion - 3 Dec 1854

  • Federation as Constitutional Monarchy with limited independence - 1 Jan 1901

  • Proclamation of Syndicalist Republic with full independence - 1 May - 19 September 1923

  • Admittance of New Zealand and Pacific states - 1924

The Commonwealth of Syndic Australia - National Overview

The Commonwealth of Syndic Australia (prefixed as such to delineate from the previous 'Colonial' or 'Imperial' Australic regime) is a sovereign polity constituting the entirety of the Australic continent as well as the adjacent islands of Tasmania, New Zealand, Fiji, and others in the near Pacific. It disputes the islands of New Guinea with neighbouring Indonesia and has been in a state of cold war with Indonesia regarding the territory for much of the past century. Excepting the population of New Guinea, Australia's population was last estimated in 2023 to be approximately 35.91 million, and its area, again excepting New Guinea, approximately 8,090,000sqkm.

Its capital is the city of Canberra, located within the Australic Capital Territory, founded in 1913 as a constructed capital for the nation's Federal government and home to just under 600 000. Melbourne, the state capital of Victoria, is the most populous city in Australia, with a population of just over 4 million, followed closely by Sydney, the state capital of New South Wales.

The official language of Australia is Austro-Anglic, a dialect of English. Most Australics are bilingual, and almost all Australics are literate.

Australia is a Federal Parliamentary Syndicalist Republic.

A Federal country is one which is comprised of several states who collectively divest some governmental powers into a higher, common government; Australia is comprised of 14 states and 2 territories that divest certain powers to the Federal government.

A Parliamentary country is one in which the head of government is drawn directly from its legislature; in Australia, the Prime Minister is drawn from the House of Representatives in the Federal Parliament, being the leader of the party or coalition with the majority of seats within the House of Representatives.

A Syndicalist country is one in which trade unions or similar bodies function as an independent organ of government; the executive branch of government in Australia, apart from the Prime Minister, consists of syndicates, which are democratic collectives akin to trade unions.

A Republic is a country in which the head of state is democratically elected; in Australia, the position of Head of State is shared between a representative council drawn from the Senate in the Federal Parliament - this could be referred to as a Directorial Republic, as opposed to the more common Presidential Republic.

At present, the State Council consists of five members representing five parties, including former Prime Minister Glen Seung. Cz. Gene O'Caelleigh of the Industrial Socialist Party is the current Prime Minister of Australia, having served in this capacity since 2019, alongside Deputy Prime Minister Lorraine Fischer of the Christian Social Democrats. Federal Cabinet Ministers and State/Territory Premiers are listed here.

The currency of Australia is the Australic Decimal Pound (ú ADP). The currency was decimalised in the mid-1920s. It is a form of representative currency that derives its value from the intrinsic value of labor; that is to say that the price of all commodities and therefore the value of one ADP is based upon the standard wage for one hour of labor.

Australia was originally inhabited by various groups of aboriginal peoples, who have lived on the continent for at least 65,000 years. Its pacific states were first settled by Polynesians and Melanesians, who remain the majority in these areas today. The Australic continent was colonised by the Britannic Empire on January 26th, 1788, to be utilised as a penal colony for criminals, cultural pariahs, and impoverished undesirables.

Despite several uprisings, including the chartist Eureka Rebellion in 1854, Australia remained a colony of the Britannic Empire until January 1░, 1901, when it gained a small measure of independence through the Federation of the 6 extant colonies at the time. New Zealand and Fiji, though initial participants in the Australic Constitutional Conventions, ultimately decided against membership. New Zealand gained a similar level of autonomy as a Britannic Dominion on September 26░ 1907, whilst Fiji remained a colony of Britain until its union with Australia alongside New Zealand in 1924.

Australia in its present incarnation was brought about as a result of a syndicalist revolution in 1923. Following the pyrrhic stalemate ending of the Great War in 1919, the incumbent Hughes government utilised authoritarian wartime powers and political intrigue to supress dissent and narrowly secure a victory in the 1922 federal election. Doubling down on its suppression of dissent, the government ordered the military to disperse a general strike organised by syndicalists and military veterans (including illegal Turkic immigrants) held in the week between Anzac Day and Labor Day the following year. This decree led to the desertion of soldiers en mass from an already outnumbered military to the side of the protests, and led to a counter-march on Labor Day to seize the capital and arrest members of Hughes' Nationalist Party. Hughes and most of his fellow parliamentarians fled to Britain before they could be apprehended, and a repeat election was soon held that saw the Labor Party and Industrial Socialist Party form a majority coalition, with the Country Party becoming the official opposition.

A new Syndicalist Constitution was created and promulgated in September that year, with New Zealand, Fiji, and other Pacific island states joining Australia the following year. Whilst the nation prepared for retaliation from Hughes and the Britannic Empire, Britain itself soon fell to its own revolution, leaving the nation free to reconstitute itself.

Information derrived from the Federal Parliament of Australia et al ℅ the Australic Syndicated Intranet, last updated January 21 2025 @ 4:08pm