by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics


The Socialist Federate Republic of
Scandinavian Liberal Paradise

Overview Factbook Dispatches Policies People Government Economy Rank Trend Cards


Savojarna: Overview

The People's Republic of Savojarna


Motto: From Iron and Ice!

Population: 22.8 million
-Density: 67 people/km2

Capital: Sjoedrhavn
Largest City: Sjoedrhavn

Official Language: Savojarnian, Finnish, Russian

National Language: Savojarnian, Finnish, Russian

Demonym: Savojar

- Chairman of the Executive Committee: Johan Carlsen
- Vice Chairwoman of the EC: Viktorija Nemarova
- Chairman of the National Council: Emil Ekman
- Head Judge of the High Court: Mikkel Olsen

Lower House: The National Council of Savojarna
Upper House: The People's Assembly

Unification under the Second Savojar Empire 1804
Establishment of the First People's Republic: 18 July 1909

Highest Point: Kurmanberg, 3710 m
Lowest Point: Lake Nuryev, -29 m

Human Development Index (NS Version): 52.69

Currency: 100 (Savojar) Öre = 1 (Savojar) Krona [SAK]

Time Zone: Savojarna Standard Time (UTC +2) / Ejana UTC +1

Drives on the: Right

Calling code: +709

Internet TLD: .sj

The Socialist Federative Republic of Savojarna (Savojars Socialistiska Förbundsrepubliken/Sosialistisen liittotasavallan Savojarna/Federativnaya Sotsialisticheskaya Respublika Savojarna; short: Savojarna) is a nation located in Northern Rushmore, made up by three large islands, about 1400 partially inhabitated smaller islands and a part located on the Rushmori mainland. It compromises three main ethnic and language groups, and is a democratic and socialist state. Its capital is the city of Sjoedrhavn.

Savojarna hosts 22.8 million people, of which 7.2% are not Savojar nationals and 0.6% hold a second nationality. The population density varies greatly between the different parts of the country. Vestrholm and southern Sumanen are relatively densely populated, especially around the population centres of Sjoedrhavn, Thorsborg, Jarnstad and Hovikkära. Ejana is generally less densely populated, however the Storevik Metropolitan Area is the most densely populated area of the country and houses 62% of Ejana's 3 million inhabitants. In Russica, the mainland part of the nation, the population is largely dispersed with the only national population centre being the port of Pawlograd. The least populated parts of the country are found in the Savojar Archipelago between the main islands.

The administrative and political divisions of the country mostly follow the natural borders presented by coastlines, as do the language borders. In Sumanen, Finnish is spoken, and in Russica the Russian language prevails, while the rest of the country speaks Scandinavian dialects compromised as "Savojarnian" ("Savojarsk"). There are vast differences between Ejanan and Sjoedrhavener dialects, to the point of not being mutually understandable anymore, but the standard variety of Savojarnian is more and more dispersed and universally understood. Most Savojars speak at least two of the national languages. The (third) unification of Savojarna happened in 1804 when Emperor Anders III. conquered Ejana, which had only been an ally before this incident. In the 19th century, it became a constitutional nation-state under the leadership of the first Empress of the Second Empire (but not the first female Savojar ruler), Kristina I. of Savojarna. She ruled from 1832 to 1885. Her grandson Gustav XII. became the last Emperor of Savojarna in 1905, and only four years later he had to abdicate in the Great Savojar Revolution. In the aftermath of the Revolution, the Communists took power peacefully in December 1909 and established the People's Republic of Savojarna. In 1975, the current Third Constitution was established.

Savojarna derives its national cohesion on common history (even though not always on the same side), the uniting force of the Norse religion most of the islands follow, and a dedication to equality and socialism. The only region with occasional upheavals was Russica, who has ceased its movement towards independence following the greater autonomy it received in the 1975 constitutional reform.