by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics


The Commonwealth of
New York Times Democracy

Overview Factbook Policies People Government Economy Rank Trend Cards


Parliament of the San Carlos Islands

Legislative Assembly of
the San Carlos Islands
29th Legislative Assembly




House of Representatives


Founded ||||||

28 June 1934



Tsarina Maria Vladimirovna

Governor General

Andrey Pavlov

President of the State Council

Yuri Ignatov



286 (200 MP's, 86 Senators)

House of Representatives
political groups||||||||||||||||

Government (104)

... Conservative (68)

... National (21)

... San Carlos Democrat (12)

... Christian Democratic (3)

Opposition (90)

... Social Democratic (45)

... Greens (19)

... Socialist (17)

... Liberal (9)

Crossbench (6)

... New Right (3)

... Independent (3)

Senate political groups||||||||

Government (42)

... Conservative (25)

... National (9)

... San Carlos Democrat (6)

... Christian Democratic (2)

Opposition (41)

... Social Democratic (19)

... Greens (9)

... Socialist (8)

... Liberal (5)

Crossbench (3)

... New Right (2)

... Independent (1)


House of Representatives|||||
voting system

Mixed member proportional

Senate voting system

Proportional representation

House of Representatives
last election

18 May 2019

Senate last election

18 May 2019 (half)

House of Representatives
next election

By 2022

Senate next election

By May 2022

Meeting place

Parliament House
Ketchikan, San Carlos Capital Territory
San Carlos Islands

The Parliament of the San Carlos Islands (officially the Federal Parliament, also called the Commonwealth Parliament) is the legislative branch of the government of the San Carlos Islands. It consists of three elements: the Crown (represented by the Governor-General), the Senate and the House of Representatives. The combination of two elected chambers, in which the members of the Senate represent the states and territories while the members of the House represent electoral divisions according to population, is modeled on the United States Congress. Through both chambers, however, there is a fused executive, drawn from the Westminster system.

The upper house, the Senate, consists of 86 members: twelve for each state, and two each for the territories, at present; only the San Carlos Capital Territory. Senators are elected using the proportional representation system and as a result, the chamber features a multitude of parties vying for power. The governing party or coalition usually has not held a majority in the Senate since 1981 (except between 2005 and 2008; and 2019-) and usually needs to negotiate with other parties and Independents to get legislation passed.

The lower house, the House of Representatives, currently consists of 200 members, 150 elected using first-past-the-post voting from single-member constituencies known as electoral divisions (and commonly referred to as "electorates" or "seats") and 50 using proportional representation. This tends to lead to the chamber being dominated by two major political groups, the centre-right to right-wing Blue+ coalition (consisting of the Conservative, National, San Carlos Democrat, and Christian Democratic parties) and the centre-left Red+ coalition (consisting of the Social Democratic, Ecological, Socialist, and Liberal parties). The government of the day must achieve the confidence of this House in order to gain and remain in power.

Although elections can be called early, every three years the full House of Representatives and half of the Senate is dissolved and goes up for reelection. A deadlock-breaking mechanism known as a double dissolution can be used to dissolve the full Senate as well as the House in the event that the Upper House twice refuses to pass a piece of legislation passed by the Lower House.

The two Houses meet in separate chambers of Parliament House (except in a rare joint sitting) on Capital Hill in Ketchikan, San Carlos Capital Territory.