by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics


The Empire of
Inoffensive Centrist Democracy

Overview Factbook Policies People Government Economy Rank Trend Cards


Ruvian Government System

please note: this entry is out of date and may soon be subject to significant revision

Ru currently uses a separation of powers government system with 3 branches: legislative, executive, and judicial.


The Imperial Senate is a unicameral legislative body that was created as Ru modernized and transitioned from an absolute monarchy to a constitutional monarchy. The Imperial Senate contains 450 seats, the number of high lordships that existed during Ru's feudal past. All senators are democratically elected and represent political districts whose borders very loosely follow traditional feudal lines, periodically adjusted according to changes in population. Senators serve 4 year terms with no term limits.

The Imperial Senate is tasked with drafting and passing laws, setting the government's budget, and confirming the king's nominees to the Supreme Court. The senate also has the sole power to declare war. A simple majority is usually required to pass a law, which the King can sign or veto. The Senate can override a royal veto with a two thirds majority. It also has the power to initiate impeachment proceedings against a king or a chancellor that has committed gross violations of the rule of law.

Senate leadership:
-Majority Consul: The designated senate leader of the political party that holds the most seats in the imperial senate. Serves a dual role of spokesperson for his or her own party and its issues and as a spokesperson for the Imperial Senate as an institution.
- Minority Consul: Any political party that has at least 1 seat in the senate is entitled to name a Consul (senate leader) The duty of the Consuls (including the majority consul) is to coordinate with each other to organize and schedule senate business. Consuls also serve as their party's spokesperson on the senate floor.

-Current Senate Consuls-
Majority Consul: Lillaise wan Grafe (Liberal Democratic Party)
Minority Consul: Raine wan Bairedi (Traditional Conservative Party)

The head of the executive branch is the Monarch. Traditionally the king has ruled with the assistance of a handpicked officer who has been known by many different names throughout Ru's antiquity and feudal period but the most recent and current title is Royal Chancellor.

The Monarch is unelected and rules by right of inheritance. Royal succession is determined by male preference primogeniture (the oldest male child inherits). He or she serves for life.

-Duties of the King-

-commander and chief of the armed forces
-signing bills from the imperial senate into law or sending them back with a veto
-nominating imperial district judges and members of the Supreme Court (the senate confirms the nominations)
-granting pardons
-breaking senate filibusters (the king can request the Majority Consul to allow him to sign a bill preemptively. If this is done it becomes a "royal edict" and it forces the senate to stop debate and hold a simple majority vote to either obey the royal decree or to strike it down).
-directing the imperial cabinet and officials of the executive branch in cooperation with the Royal Chancellor.
-numerous traditional, ceremonial, and symbolic duties.
-issuing royal directives (executive orders) according to the limits of the constitution and with the approval of the Royal Chancellor.

-The Royal Chancellor-
in times of antiquity this officer was chosen by the king but alongside the formation of the imperial senate and Ruvian constitution was the transformation of this office to being a democratically elected official.

In both ancient times and today the Royal Chancellor has the authority to speak with the king's voice, which means he or she has the power to perform any of the royal executive functions if the king is absent, sick, or otherwise indisposed. It is both expected, and as a natural result of the power to act for the king in his stead, necessary, that the king cooperate with this democratically elected official to run the government.

Modern reforms have also granted this office the following additional powers:
- creating the king's executive cabinet and appointing replacements
- automatically gaining the role of Regent if one is needed. (rules for underage and incapacitated monarchs)
- joining the king in the exercise of his veto power (The King is unable to veto legislation over official objection from his Royal Chancellor)

In it's modern form the Royal Chancellor is elected by the entire empire of Ru by popular vote. He or she serves a 4 year term with no term limits.

The current Royal Chancellor is Mani wan Karrama of the Traditional Conservative Party

The current King of Ru is King Yoshio (age 8). As he has not yet come of age he has been declared too young to rule on his own, so Chancellor Flanders serves as his Regent and Lord Protector.

Secretary of State: Mrs. Rosemary Hilton Caihill

The judicial branch is a system of municipal, county, provincial, and imperial district courts, ruled over by the Ruvian Supreme Court.

The Supreme Court has the power to decide to preside over cases as the final authority. It's primary duty is to interpret laws passed by the Imperial Senate and interpreting the Ruvian Constitution.

The Constitution is the supreme law of the land in Ru. All branches of government, even the king, are bound by it.

The Supreme Court consists of 9 justices nominated by the king and confirmed by the Imperial Senate. Supreme court justices must be licensed attorneys and have some form of judicial experience. (it is not required that they be imperial district court justices but there has never yet been a nominee who wasn't). Supreme Court justices are required to be politically independent and beholden to nothing aside from the law, the Ruvian Constitution, and their own personal legal beliefs in how it should be interpreted, not even the king who nominated them.

It is often said that out of all members of the Ruvian government, a supreme court justice is by far the most likely to be the smartest person in the room, that is because it is the only government position that is attained based solely on merit. Supreme Court Justices serve for life and cannot be removed except by death, incapacity, or retirement.

The Supreme Court hears cases, uses the power of judicial review to invalidate laws as violating the constitution, and is responsible for conducting impeachment trials in the event the senate calls for one and ultimately deciding on whether or not to remove a king or chancellor in such a case. The court decides it's rulings by a simple majority vote of the 9 justices.

The Current Supreme Court of Ru

Chief Justice: Mitto wan Garellan
2. Aleton wan Sarragassum
3. Lian wan Jakari
4. Anjailla wan Likroi
5. Norraman wan Wanno
6. Ambrose wan Pelle
7. Marralan wan Killaise
8. Dunan wan Misuchi
9. Brian wan Gibson

The Empire of Ru-