by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics


The Dominion of
Inoffensive Centrist Democracy

Overview Factbook Dispatches Policies People Government Economy Rank Trend Cards



Mae esgidiau gwyn yn gwrthyrru
Overview · Geography · Maps · History · Politics · Monarchy · Military · Economy · Culture · Religion · News
Diplomatic relations · Royal family trees · History timeline · Provinces · Legality · National holidays · Language · Sport · Biographies · Names
Dydw i ddim yn mwynhau'r gwiberod du yn y swyddfa

Duvactism, from the Nhoor word dwmhactws ‘way’, ‘manner’, is the main religion of Nhoor. Although it was heavily influenced by Hinduism in the past, Duvactism contains a number of features that aren’t found in Hinduism.

Prominent themes in Duvactism include the four Prwsārte or life goals, Carām (action, intent, and consequences), Samsara (cycle of death and rebirth), and the various Ɵ̦ga (paths or practices to attain Mɵcesy (see below)). Duvactism is a polytheistic tradition, with the six First Gods receiving an equal amount of worship. Duvactism has four classes (called Varwn ‘colours’) that reflect a person’s nature and tendency but in modern times these are treated like e.g. zodiac signs and not as obligation to work in a certain field or to choose a certain life path (a tradition that was decreasingly maintained until into the second half of the 19th century).

A recent development in Duvactism is the appointment of the High Priest of Nhoor since 1944. King Armhad IV wanted to give a face to Nhoor’s religion and an example of decency for Nhoor to follow, so he appointed the priest assigned to the royal palace as High Priest of Nhoor. Since 1957, the High Priest is appointed from amidst all priests for a one year term. The appointment is purely symbolical as the High Priest has no more power or influence than any other priest, although he or she has been the designated religious official to crown a new King or Queen since that moment. The current High Priest is Rosa̦n III (1 July 2021 to 30 June 2022).

- Nharwm (ethics/duties)
- Irōs (prosperity/work)
- Cama (desires/passions)
- Mɵcesy (liberation/salvation/liberation of the cycle of death and rebirth)

The First Gods
- Asw̦ (Ashoo; Shiva)
- Ēsī̦n (Owshin; Vishnu)
- Sa̦ctī (Shakti)
- Ganhesa̦ (Gaësha; Ganesha)
- Swla̦ (Sulya; Surya)
- Sucan (Sücan; Skanda)

Varwn (Colours)
Duvactism has four traditional colours (classes):
- barmine : priests, scholars, teachers (blue)
- sa̦tire : rulers, warriors, administrators (red)
- eyse̦ : agriculturalists, traders (green)
- sw̦dire : laborers and service providers (purple)
- sanhōrine : others (white; not an official Varwn)

List of High Priests