by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics


The ⚜️ Constitutional Monarchy ⚜ of

Overview Factbook Dispatches Policies People Government Economy Rank Trend Cards



The Batavian Kingdom

Koninkrijk der Bataven



Coat of Arms

Motto: "Eendracht maakt macht!"
Unity makes might!

Anthem: Link"Het Wilhelmus"
Het Wilhelmus

(Shown in Orange)


and largest cities

Amsterdam, Rotterdam, The Hague

Official Language
and national language

Dutch, Frisian

Official Religion:

Protestant Christianity


Semi-Constitutional Monarchy


Anna-Louise van Oranje


Ruben de Vries


House of Representatives


Dutch Republic Founded

Willem I Crowned





76,657 km˛


30,550,000 (est.)



The Batavian Kingdom (Dutch: het Bataafse Koninkrijk), or simply Batavia, is a sovereign nation that consists of twenty-three provinces in Western Europe near the North Sea. It borders Germany to the east and France to the south, and shares maritime borders with the United Kingdom to the west. The country's official language is Dutch, while secondary official languages are Frisian and English. From a 2019 estimate, the population is numbered at 30 million and is one of the most densely populated countries in Europe. It also possesses several territories in the Caribbean: the islands of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba.

Amsterdam, Rotterdam, The Hague and Utrecht are the four largest cities. While Amsterdam is the nation's capital, The Hague holds the seats of the government and Supreme Court. The Port of Rotterdam the busiest seaport in Europe, and the busiest in the world outside Asia. Schiphol Airport in Amsterdam is the busiest airport in the nation and third busiest in Europe. Despite its small size, Batavia is the second-largest exporter of food and agricultural products.

The Kingdom is considered to be a developed economy with high degrees of economic freedom. Shipping, fishing and agriculture are leading sectors in its economy, followed by industrial activity such as food processing, chemicals, hightech and financial services. The properous open economy, which heavily depends on foreign trade, is noted for low unemployment and inflation and an important role as a European transportation hub. Batavia makes use of mandatory health insurance, and compulsory education between ages 5 to 16.

Today, the Batavian Kingdom is a constitutional monarchy, with the monarch, currently Queen Anna-Louise van Oranje, being the Head of State. The bicameral parliament of Batavia consists of the House of Representatives (Tweede Kamer der Staten-Generaal, literally: Second Chamber of the States General, commonly referred to as Tweede Kamer), and the Senate (Eerste Kamer der Staten-Generaal, literally: First Chamber of the States General, commonly referred to as Eerste Kamer). They are the lower and upper houses of parliament respectively, and both meet at the Binnenhof in The Hague. The Head of Government is Ruben de Vries, the current Prime Minister and leader of the largest party in parliament, VVD.