by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics


The Democratic States of
Left-wing Utopia

Overview Factbook Policies People Government Economy Rank Trend Cards


Erynia and Draconia Factbook

Erynia and Draconia, officially the Democratic States of Erynia and Draconia is a country that resides in The Social Liberal Union on the continent Erede on the planet Miyana. The nation covers 578,033 square kilometers and has a population of 102,153,166. The current president is Lukas Daniels and the Prime Minister is Lèslye Smydt. The legislative bodies, the National Assembly and the Senate, meet in the capital and largest city, Eryn City. Erynia and Draconia is often referred to as "the Democratic States" as it is a federation of 12 states. Especially in official government documents, the nation is referred to as the DSED which stands for Democratic States of Erynia and Draconia. Another common name for the nation is Ravellia. The most widely spoken language is Ravellian, although English is also spoken. Erynia and Draconia is known for its world class healthcare system, flourishing book-publishing industry, and comprehensive welfare.

The Democratic States
of Erynia and Draconia

Motto: "Pax, libyre, ed ègālya" (Peace, freedom, and equality)
Demonym: Eryconian
Capital: Eryn City
Planet: Miyana
Region: The Social Liberal Union

Area: 578,033 square kilometers
Population: 102,153,160

Government type: Federal semi-presidential republic
President: Lukas Daniels
Prime Minister: Léslye Smydt
Legislature: National Assembly, Senate

Official languages: Ravellian, English
Currency: Eryconian Dollar (£)
HDI (NS version): 92.22
Time zone: +1


United kingdoms
In 1621, a Draconian prince married an Erynian princess, merging the two kingdoms. The United Kingdom of Erynia and Draconia was an absolute monarchy, and it stayed one until the Riots of 1732. Peasants rioted against the monarchy, demanding democracy and social reform. The National Assembly, a congress of politicians elected to represent the common people, was formed the following year. While the monarch could overrule the National Assembly’s decisions, it was rarely done out of fear that they would be overthrown. To balance the power of the National Assembly, the king created a Senate, which served as the upper house and consisted of politicians appointed by the king. As the decades passed, more reforms were passed that gave the people more political power, most notably the 1st Constitution, which officially laid out the limits of the king's power and protected citizens' political and civil rights. The constitution was passed by the National Assembly and ratified by the king in 1886.

Monarchy abolished
In 1957, a referendum was held and the people voted for the monarchy to be abolished. The constitution was rewritten, debated, and edited in a process that lasted almost 2 years. In 1958, the new constitution was passed through both houses and signed by the new head of state; the president. The nation became formally known as "The Democratic States of Erynia and Draconia."

Post-monarchy reforms
Since the abolition of the monarchy, Erynia and Draconia has phased out several remnants of monarchical times. The Senate, which was formerly filled with completely unelected members, was reformed in 1962 to have two-thirds of its seats elected semi-democratically by state legislatures. In 1994, all seats had to be elected by state legislatures. Most recently, the Senate was completely democratized, with all seats being elected democratically by the people directly.

Recent governments
From 1963 to the present day, power has been held either by the Social Democrats or the Liberals. The first post-monarchy government was a Social Democratic one from 1963-1975, followed by a Liberal-National government from 1975 to 1987. Power returned to the Social Democrats in 1987, lasting until 2009. Power returned to the Liberals, before transferring back to the Social Democrats in 2015. Lukas Daniels has been president since 2018.


Erynia and Draconia is a federal parliamentary republic. Federal legislative power is vested in the National Assembly and the Senate. Both houses are elected directly by the nation’s citizens using the mixed-member proportional representation (MMP). The Erynia and Draconian government operates under the 3rd Constitution of the Democratic States written in 1958, which has been amended seven times since then. You can find the constitution here.

The president, currently Lukas Daniels, is the head of state. They are elected directly by Erynia and Draconia’s citizens. The president exercises executive powers alongside the Prime Minister, who is the head of government. The PM is elected by the National Assembly. The job of the Prime Minister is generally more concerned with every day matters, while the President is in charge of representing the nation on the world stage and dealing with treaties and making speeches. While the federal government is responsible for a large amount of decisions, a significant amount of power is delegated to the states. Additionally, a significant portion of decisions on both the state and federal level are decided by referenda. There are term limits for all government offices.

Political Parties
The main two political parties in Erynia and Draconia are the Social Democratic and Labor Party (Socialdemogràdyn ed Lábore in Ravellian) and the Liberal Party (Lyberepærten in Ravellian). A president has always been a member of one of these parties in recent history. The Social Democrats and the Liberals usually have to form coalition governments with third parties such as the Center Party or the National Party. Currently, the Social Democrats are in a coalition government with the Greens and Socialist Alliance.

Powers of the states
Each of Erynia and Draconia's 12 states are each delegated significant power by the constitution. Each state has a chancellor who serves as the head of government in that state, a bicameral legislature, and a court system. The states are self-governing for the most part —they make their own laws, collect their own taxes, have their own constitutions, etc.— but they also must follow all federal laws and pay federal taxes.

Foreign Policy
Erynia and Draconia is a member state of The Social Liberal Union. Erynia and Draconia's Ministry of Foreign Affairs appoints a person to represent the nation in the SLU and vote on the regional law. Erynia and Draconia is a member of the World Assembly. The nation's votes on WA resolutions are usually decided via referenda.


Geographic features
Erynia and Draconia is part of The Social Liberal Union. The climate is mostly temperate. Several rivers run through the Democratic States such as the Dracon River, Cylin River, and Erbin River. The western part of the nation is generally flat, while the eastern and northern parts are more mountainous. The north also tends to be colder than the southern parts of the country.

Major cities
The largest city in Erynia and Draconia is Eryn City, Eryn City. The second largest is Scaleria, West Draconia.