by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics


The Federated Kingdom of
Inoffensive Centrist Democracy

Overview Factbook Dispatches Policies People Government Economy Rank Trend Cards


Venson Pact / Union (Under Revision)

On February 10th, 1824, exactly two years after the end of the Third War of the Coalitions – the final war in a series of wars which engulfed nearly all of the continent of Eurevia and resulted in the death 3.6 million soldiers – a former High-General in the Royal Army of Emerstari and now diplomat for His Majesty, Erwin IV, Duke Thomes Karlssen av Lorenskost, surrounded by a cluster of guards met with diplomats Count Pierre de Tremont of Marseile, Earl Erich von Dusselburg of Saexia, Sir Andries Smitte of Rolech, and Sir Lorens Visser of Canaria in the Roleis capital of Venson; these five men would soon sign the Venson Accords which would found the intergovernmental organization, the Venson Pact.

The major factor that most historians contribute to the founding of the Venson Pact is, of course, the Wars of the Coalitions; though, many also contribute the changing foreign policies – from policies concerning expansion to policies concerning keeping the power balance – of Eurevia’s powers such as Emerstari, Marseile, and Polszczyne to the founding of the Venson Union as well. According to the Venson Accords, the organizations original goals were to “to maintain honorable relations” between its member-states, “maintain respect for all treaty obligations,” and “to promote the general welfare of the Eurevian continent.” Later in the document, it also had several articles regarding trade between the member nations.

Throughout the history of the Venson Pact, it involved itself in nine conflicts and attained twelve additional member-states. These wars included: the Plorses Archipelago Wars (1824-1830) the Marsei-Ingesh War (1826-1828), the Åcherland Wars (1830-1835), the Six Years’ War (1834-1840), the Slovyan War of Independence (1851-1857); the Rhenser War (1862-1867), the Coelansk-Friesland War (1870-1874), the Rusyokan War (1890-1893), and the 10 Years’ War (1911-1921). Nations that joined included: Coelansk (1825), Roelé (1827), Sverig (1827), Soumiland (1830), Jermansk (1830), Austliege (1831), Ingeland (1835), Venezia (1841), Magarnia (1847), Cestinia (1857), Albia (1873), and Hessia (1880).

The Venson Pact played one of the key roles in establishing the borders of modern-day Eurevia; however, in 1922, the Venson Pact was dissolved and replaced by the Venson Union. The Venson Union was formed in the same building in which the Venson Pact had been formed 98 years prior. The Venson Union functioned in much the same way as the Venson Pact; however, in addition to military and trade pacts, it established an intergovernmental legislature for disputes between member-states to be settled and eventually its own peacekeeping and aid relief forces as well.

The Venson Union’s legislative organ has two chambers, the General Assembly – which deals with issues of international dispute as well as things such as where the funding from member-states' payments should go to – and the Security Council – which deals with matters regarding the peacekeeping and relief forces (the Venson Union Peacekeeping Corps and the Venson Union International Aid Organization) as well as what conflicts the Venson Union should, as a whole, involve itself in. Both chambers are headed by a Chief Representative which is elected by the representatives in that chamber (a nation’s representatives within the assembly are typically elected by the citizens of that nation as well). Separate from the legislative organ, is the Secretary-General of the Venson Union who is an individual who can be nominated through various ways and then will be either be approved or denied by both chambers. The Secretary-General is designated to vote in either assembly should a resolution’s vote result in a tie as well as act as the Venson Union’s spokesperson; to a lesser extent, the Secretary-General also will act as the Commander-in-Chief of the VUPC and VUIAD.

Throughout the Venson Union’s existence, it has seen some form of involvement in the following conflicts: the Aagerland War (1932-1936), the 1938 Revolution (1938-1939), the Renochesvian Civil War (1938-1940), the Second Estelian War (1940-1944), the Blustein Conflict (1953-1957), the First Slovyan Insurgency (1963-1972), the Week’s War (1976-1976), the First Nanarri Conflict (1992-1993), the Second Nanarri Conflict (1999-2000), the Second Slovyan Insurgency (2014-), the Two Years' War (2015-2017), and the War on Terror (2016-). Since 1922, most of the nations in Eurevia have joined the Venson Union; the most notable exception to this the the Union of Socialist Republics of Renochesvia. The USRR has been one of the most hostile enemies of the VU since its rise to power in the 1940s.