by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics


The Mainland Municipalities of
Democratic Socialists

Overview Factbook Policies People Government Economy Rank Trend Cards



Tüürlad (Dirlandic)
Coton (French)


Coat of arms

"Łarwanõ jah Raùhanõ" (Dirlandic)
"Our Equality and Our Peace"


Population: ~1,000

Capital: Ville
Largest Municipality: Poisson (total), Rivière (mainland)

Official Languages: Dirlandic, English, French

Recognised Regional Languages: Icelandic, Finnish

Demonym: Dirlander

Government: Direct democracy
• Ville Municipality Head: Yoshiko McAdams

Legislature: Alsing


• Norse settlement: 11th century - 1350

• Cottonian colonisation: 1819 - 24 August 2004

• Independence from Republic of Cottony: 23 August 2004

Total Area: 1,080km²

Highest Point: 485m
Lowest Point: 0m

GDP (nominal):
GDP (nominal) per capita:

Human Development Index: 0.777

Currency: Dirlandic křoùn (DLK)

Time Zone: AST (UTC -4) - Mainland
EST (UTC - 5) - Northern municipalities

Walks on the: right

Calling code: +1 285

Internet TLD: .dl


Cottony (Dirlandic: Tüürlad pronounced ['tyːr.læd]), also called Dirland by native Dirlanders and in common parlance, is a Nordic island nation located in the Hudson Strait of northern Canada. It is nestled south of Baffin Island, Nunavut, with the Hudson Bay to the west, the Canadian province of Québec to the south and the Atlantic Ocean to the east. The northern municipalities of Montagne, Roche and Poisson are located on the coasts of Baffin Island. The Northeast Region is the economic region, home to the capital municipality of Ville, with Rivière having one-quarter the population of the mainland. Poisson Municipality is the economic region of the northern municipalities, and has three-quarters the population of the nation as a whole.


The name Cottony is derived from the Cottonian empire, an offshoot of British and French interaction in Canada in the 17th century. Their name is an English exonym of the French 'Cotonois', which seems to come from 'coton', the French word for cotton. The local name for the island, Dirland (Dirland) is from an Icelandic name for the island referencing the locals, Dýrland, translating as 'animal land'. Tüürläd is the Dirlandic nativisation of Dýrland.



Cottony's government operates on three levels, regional, constituent and municipal. Citizens of these three levels directly affect their region, constituency or municipality of residence, with Dirlandic citizens being involved in the policies of their level of government. Additionally, the regions, constituencies and municipalities of the Agricultural Provinces are governed by citizens of select municipalities.

The northern municipalities are outside the bounds of any region or constituency, and instead have representative democracies. Their governments handle all aspects that mainland municipal, constituent and regional governments do.

Administrative Divisions of Cottony

Democratic Cottony is divided into 5 regions, which are further divided into 17 municipalities. There are also 7 constituencies, which often reflect historical connections. Place Municipality (mainland) act as its own municipality, and not part of any region or constituency. Municipalities take care of rubbish collection and other local duties, with citizens engaging in a weekly cleanup. Constituencies promote culture and tourism within their respective municipalities, and often handle affairs with respect to visitors and vacation venues. Regions handle administrative duties, such as defence, national government and international affairs. Regional heads discuss on decisions that affect the nation and its status in the international playground.

Municipalities of Cottony
*Bois-du-Sol-Riche Municipality is now Sol-Riche Municipality.