by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics


The Socialist Federation of
Liberal Democratic Socialists

Overview Factbook Policies People Government Economy Rank Trend Cards


Barunian Government Structure

After the adoption of the Second Constitution of the Socialist Federation of Barunia Act, the way in which government operated changed dramatically. Ways in which elections were undertaking, the role of the Legislative Assembly, and the way in which the Prime Minister and Secretary General were appointed were all altered. The current system is below:

The House of Representatives
The House of Representatives is the lower house of the Barunian Parliament. It is responsible for the running of the country, and of the creation and passing of all laws. Each member of the House is elected from an Electoral Ward, with one seat for each ward. The wards are designed so that there are roughly the same number of voters in each one (currently approx. 250,000). Currently there are 165 seats.

After an election, the House of Representatives holds a ballot to decide which member of the House will be Prime Minister. The Prime Minister than elects members of the House to the Ministerial Council. He may not elect less than 10% (rounded down, so currently 16), or more than half less one (rounded down, so currently 81: 165/2 - 1 = 81.5.) Each member of the Ministerial Council takes a portfolio, and is responsible for a Ministry (or Department) of government. Members of the House of Representatives are called Members, and members of the Ministerial Council are called Ministers.

The Legislative Assembly
The Legislative Assembly is the highest level of Barunian Government, and is responsible for the review of all legislation passed by the House. Members are elected to the Legislative Assembly by a run-off voting system. Members are represented for each state, with the four states having 7 representatives and the Territory having Four, making 32 seats in total. Members of the Legislative Assembly are called Senators.

The Secretary General
The Secretary General is recognised as the Head of the Federation, and serves as the president of the Assembly. However, the majority of the legislative power remains with the Prime Minster, who is considered the Head of Parliament. The Secretary General is elected by a general election called solely for that purpose. A run-off voting system is used, and the candidate who wins the most votes is elected General Secretary for a 5-year term. Candidates for the position must be nominated by either:
-20% of the combined members of the House and Assembly (Currently 39)
-50% plus 1 of the members of a state or territory parliament
-A written nomination by the people, with at least 206,000 (or 0.5% of national population) signatures
-A self-nomination, in the case of an incumbent or previous holder of two terms experience

Ministries of the 15th Parliament (24)
Office of the Prime Minister
Office of the Attorney-General[/u]
Ministry of the Treasury: Responsible for maintaining the Treasury and Reserves, providing financial services for the nation, the mint, and the tax office.
Ministry of Citizen's Affairs: Responsible for maintaining documentation on citizens, for providing advocacy programs and for providing citizenship.
Ministry of Veterans and the Aged: Responsible for providing specialised services to veterans and the elderly.
Ministry of Social Justice and Welfare: Responsible for the provision of welfare, child protection, and support services.
Ministry of Health: Responsible for all health and ambulance services, aged care regulation, food safety.
Ministry of Education: Responsible for all education services
Ministry of Justice: Responsible for the police, courts, and prisons
Ministry of Emergency Services: Responsible for the fire, rescue, and emergency response services
Ministry of Public Services: Responsible for utilities such as power, gas, water and telephones.
Ministry of Defence: Responsible for the defence force and intelligence agencies
Ministry of Customs and Border Protection: Responsible for customs and immigration
Ministry of Civil Works: Responsible for the building and maintaing of public facilities, the building of transport systems and the building and maintaing of ports and airports as well as the management of civil planning in the nation.
Ministry of Transport:: Responsible for the provision of public transport, vehicle registration and licensing, and road, air, and maritime safety
Ministry of Housing, Planning, and Sustainability: Responsible for providing government housing, planning communities, and maintaining a sustainable country.
Ministry of Conservation and Environment: Responsible for the upkeep, care, and protection of the country's environmental assets.
Ministry of Foreign Affairs: Responsible for all relations with other nations
Ministry of Economics and Trade: Responsible for managing trade, regulating business, and providing economic services.
Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries: Responsible for regulating the agricultural and fishing industry, and providing services to those industries.
Ministry of Industry and Workplace Relations: Responsible for regulating all industries and monitoring workplace relations.
Ministry of Resources: Responsible for managing Barunia's natural resources.
Ministry of Recreation and Leisure: Responsible for the management and regulation of sport, gambling, recreational facilities and the use of public spaces for leisure activities.
Ministry of Arts and Sciences: Responsible for the advancement of the arts and sciences within the country.