by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics


The Confederate States of
Inoffensive Centrist Democracy

Overview Factbook Dispatches Policies People Government Economy Rank Trend Cards


Government Information

Government of the Confederate States

First National Flag of the Confederate States, Representing the Nation

Government Overview

The Government of the Confederate States was created into existence by the signing of the Constitution of the Confederate States after the collapse of the government of the United Republic of Anagonia. Prior to the formation of the Confederacy, the government was a more federally-based, centralized entity that exhibited power over the nation through various means. This lead to an overbearing, and extremely over-confident government that eventually collapsed in the aftermath of a World War. The government of the Confederate States was thereafter established by fourteen surviving members of the old government following the collapse, with full intention to never repeat the mistakes that led to such a powerful and corrupt governing entity.

In modern times, the government of the Confederate States acts a mediator between the various states within the Confederacy. It has centralized authority over national matters, and enacts defense and civil protection through the use of the Military, but exhibits very little authority in state matters until authorized by those states to do so. The Congress of the Confederacy continues its constitutional obligation to ensure a clear line of communication between the states and government, and enacts the will of the people through representatives of those states to and through the government.

Country Name
Conventional long form
Confederate States of Anagonia
Conventional short form
Confederate States, The Confederacy

Government Type
Constitution-based Confederate Republic; strong state-rights and democratic traditions. (Constitutional Republic)

Liberty, State of Liberty, CSA

Administrative Divisions
7 states; Arkansis, Lexington, Liberty, Orgath, Plymouth, Saratoga, Imperium.

September 14th, 0 AUR (After United Republic)

National Holiday
Confederacy Day, September 14th, celebrated yearly on same day.

September 14th, 0 After United Republic
Signed into law
September 15th, 0 After United Republic

National Anthem
Link"Battle Hymn of the Republic"

National Motto
Pro Licentia of Vir quod Justicia ut Totus (On National Seal)
Translation: "For Liberty of Man and Justice to All"

Legal System
Court System based off of English common law; each state has its own unique legal system based on the standards of the People and Constitutions of each State; judicial review of legislative acts is commonly practiced not only on the congressional level but state levels as well; Does not recognized outside influence to justice system.

17 years of age; universal

Executive Branch
NOTE: The President is both Chief of State and Head of Government under Constitutional Law.
Chief of State
-President Franklin Johnson (100 AUR - Current)
-Vice President Edmond Goff (100 AUR - Current)
Head of Government
-President Franklin Johnson (100 AUR - Current)
-Vice President Edmond Goff (100 AUR - Current)

Note: Cabinet appointed by President with Congressional Approval
---Department of the Confederate States--
Chief Secretary Forest Patton

---Department of National Defense---
Chief General Elliott Armstrong

---Constitutional Office of Justice---
Chief Justice Karl Roberts

---Council of the States (Department of the Interior)---
Chief General Titus Bond

---Chief of the Confederate Congress---
Chief Senator Wyatt Alexander

---Council of States Agriculture---
Chief Secretary Alma Hunter

---Council of Confederate Commerce---
Chief Secretary Hillary Kim

---Confederate States Joint Department of Progress---
Chief Admiral Dave Evans

---Confederate States Department of Colonial Affairs---
Chief Secretary Rodger Williams

National Elections
President and Vice President elected on same ticket and voted upon by a electoral total from each member state. President and Vice President serve five year terms with currently no limit.

Legislative Branch
The Congress of the Confederacy is a Joint Governing Body established to encourage participation among individual states and provide an avenue and forum to debate the future of the Confederacy. The Congress of the Confederacy also handles Colonial Affairs via an independent body which is comprised of elected representatives, one from each member-state.

Congressional Elections
Elections are held by popular vote according to the law of each member-state, encouraging unification through respect of state law. Winning candidates from each state depending on district and population go to represent their states and districts accordingly in the Congress of the Confederacy.

Judicial Branch
The Judicial Branch acts as the governing assembly to unify the courts in the Confederate States, establishing by the Constitution a Supreme Court of the Confederacy which dictates final decisions on issues between member-states and lesser issues of the individual. By law, colonial disputes are also held into high regard within the Supreme Court of the Confederacy to ensure fair treatment. All Justices on the Supreme Court of the Confederacy are chosen by the Congress of the Confederacy and approved via electoral vote.

Political Parties and Leaders
-Confederate National Party [Franklin Johnson - Current President of the Confederate States]
-Federalist Party [Rick Campbell]
-Libertarian Party [Jeffry Dustin Mann]
-Socialist Party of Anagonia [Dixie Valencia]
-Facist Party of Southern Anagonia [Edmond Goff - Current Vice-President of the Confederate States]

Flag Description
Seven horizontal stripes of red (top and bottom) alternating with white; there is a rectangle in the upper hoist-side corner bearing a cross with blue on the outside and red outlining the exterior of the cross; Interior of the cross holds blue with seven five-pointed stars; The stripes represent the alternating ideals of Liberty, Honor, and Sovereignty; The seven stars represent the seven founding member-states within the Confederate States; The blue in the rectangle represents the ideals of truth and purity; The red in the cross represent Honor and Duty.